Sunday, December 18, 2011

Tuckered Out

Lately I have felt so guilty for leaving my babies at home while we work, work...and work some more. They have been left alone more than usual and when I come home I'm so tired I tend to write them off. Appease them with a rawhide stick and run! 


I've been a horrible mommy. 


So this weekend was Sadie and Rosie weekend! Yesterday we played hard, went on walks, and played some more. And this is what happened...



So exhausted. So sweepy. Stole my blankets and made her own nest.


This one just drops where ever. No nest necessary.

I think it was a successful weekend. I don't think either of them have slept through the night till 8am in months. 

No more neglect for these babies. I'm starting one of my New Year's resolutions before Christmas. I foresee many more naps and quiet nights in this house.

Saturday, December 17, 2011

It's a Family Tradition!

Every year my family goes to Branson, Missouri the first weekend in December and this year wasn't any different. It's a family tradition. And one that I look forward to all year long!


I don't know what it is about Branson, but it takes me to this happy place every time we go. Many of my fondest childhood memories were made there at Silver Dollar City, Go-cart places, shows, and shopping centers.


But there is something about Branson at Christmas time that is just magical. So magical it sometimes makes me want to move there...sometimes. Who knows. Maybe it will happen! Who knows what God holds for our future.








Redneck wine glass...yes this is what you are missing if you have never been to SDC















The rolling hills, log cabins, lakes, blue skys, Christmas music, the smell of roasting candied nuts, potato hash, and just an old time feeling. Branson isn't new and shiny like many cities. Neither is it dirty and grungy. It's...perfect. I want to move there.


 I love Christmas.


 I LOVE family traditions!

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

The Belchin Rosie

I have to be the worst blogger to ever exist. It's been...I don't know how long since my last post.
I could use the excuse that I've been busy...which I have been. Buuut I will be honest and say that I have been LaZy. 


Yes Lazy. And I'm ok with that.


On to better things.


We've had our new addition, little miss Rosie, for about two months now and we are still figuring out her personality and her quirks. 





Such as over the last several weeks she has picked up a nasty habit. After gulping some water or scarfing down some food she approaches oh so friendly and belches...right in your face! I don't know where she has picked up this nasty habit. Sadie for sure does no such thing. She's too lady like. 


Of course I don't belch. I'm a lady too! The only person left is Lonnie. dun dun dun!




He is a man. So of course he belches, farts, and scratches. All of those gross things men do that we would never! And now he's teaching my precious little Rosie! How could he! men.



Doesn't she look so happy? She's come so far since we first got her. So much personality and love. She's a great addition to our happy little family.

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Frothin from home

Oh.my.goodness....I finally found a way to foam milk at home without having to buy an expensive frother. I am in heaven! 


For those of you who have never experienced a traditional latte or cappuccino (and no Starbucks does not do it in the traditional way) you are missing out! Starbucks coffee is pretty delicious, and their lattes are divine, but..can you imagine what those would be like if they were made in the traditional way?! 


Haaaallelujah


I think heaven's gates would sing


Traditional lattes are made with espresso, milk..and silky, velvety, delicious..foam. And that foam enhances the espresso to heights you never knew existed before.


Next time, skip Starbucks and go to your local coffee shop, order a coffee for here, have a seat and enjoy. You won't know what hit your taste buds. (If you are in the NWA area, I suggest bhk Kafe on Dickson. Best coffee in the area -Local Kennedy Coffee- handcrafted syrups and chocolates and delicious treats as well!)


Since a quality espresso machine is completely out of my budget, I have improvised and discovered the homemade way of making foamed milk. And it works pretty well! 


http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/tips-techniques/how-to-make-milk-foam-without-a-machine-100716


It's pretty simple and mine didn't turn out too bad. It's not like my old days working at the cafe, but until I am rich and famous and can afford a nice machine...this will fill that void.


Check out that lovely foam! MMMmm


Enjoy!

Saturday, October 15, 2011

Saturday Morning Bliss

There is nothing like a cool quiet Saturday morning to sit by yourself, drink a cup of coffee, scarf down a piece of pumpkin coffee cake, and watch the sunrise. No sleeping in for this girl!



It's not the most spectacular balcony but I love it! We have the perfect position to watch the sun rise right between those two buildings. Oh and those are my flowers that my Nana got me! 


The elixir of life...besides sweet tea! 


This is a new recipe I borrowed from The Pioneer Woman's blog..let me tell you it was worth baking! So easy and so delicious. 

I am not sure what makes Saturday morning more spectacular then all other mornings. Maybe it's the thought of nothing has to be done that day except for things that I want to do.


No work.


No obligations.


No one is awake yet..


This morning I have already ran 1 mile, took a shower, bathed the dogs, started laundry, enjoyed my cup of coffee and pumpkin coffee cake. Life is bliss right at this moment.


Isn't she purdy! She's looking so much better!

Sadie wasn't feeling too photogenic this morning. She's had an attitude ever since she got her bath...


Now only if my husband were here to enjoy it with me...


Enjoy what's left of your Saturday morning!

Friday, September 23, 2011

Dan. I. Yell

Yo yo it's rappa Dan.I.Yell comin from Tulsa, Oklahoma! How you doin?


At work the design department comes up with some crazy ideas to entertain ourselves during long nights and weekends of work work...and more work.


Our newest adventure.


A rap video.


And of course, to be in a rap video you must have a proper rapper name. By unanimous decision, my rapper name is Dan.I.Yell. Which fits perfectly.


My mom tends to remind me that she does not have hearing aids so it is unnecessary for me to speak so loudly. But if you know our family, most of us talk loudly and we really like to yell and scream. Dan.I.Yell.  Perfect! 


And a rapper name is just fun to have! What would your rapper name be?


Fo Rizzle my Nizzle


Peace gangstas!

Monday, September 19, 2011

My T.V. Addiction

If there is one thing I am addicted to, it is T.V.  

All kinds of T.V.

In fact, look in my planner or my google calendar and you will find the premiere date and time for all of my favorite shows. And these reminders aren't penciled in...they are in permanent marker. Yes, I am that serious about my T.V. 

...And there is no shame. No shame at all.

My T.V. addiction began at a very young age. I've always loved T.V. But my addiction to so many shows developed from working early morning (we are talkin 4a.m.-8a.m.) shifts at the Reid front desk as a residential desk assistant at the U of A. (Thank you college. If I came out with anything it is knowledge about the Kardashians and the Duggars!) It was too early to do homework, too late to call your friends so what else do you do? Find T.V. shows on the internet to become addicted to! 

I am a reality T.V. junkie and if it has the acronym CSI in it... you can guarantee I am number one in the millions who watch. I LOVE the CSI series. And Criminal Minds. It is amazing how they solve crimes. If I could handle blood, decaying bodies, bugs, and psychotic people I might consider being a CSI. But alas those are not my God given gifts. 

I am also a HUGE fan of the Duggars...and AM embarrassed to say that I have driven by their home just to see it. And I have seen them twice now after living in Arkansas for 4 years. I love them. I think they are amazing. So many people criticize them but I love 'em. 


Some might say that might T.V. addiction is unhealthy. I should be outside or participating in a hobby. Well I do spend time outside. I walk my dogs several miles several times a week. And now that the weather has cooled I am beginning a running routine. Need to fit into those fall/winter close and slim down for new ones! I do have hobbies. Surprise surprise I'm doing one of my hobbies right now typing to you! I have hobbies, don't you worry. And I participate at church as a small group leader (during my most important night of T.V.! Sacrifice!). I do many things and that's why I am not embarrassed or ashamed of my T.V. consumption. 

Sit down with a big ole bowl of popcorn. Or in my case chili smothered with cheese, sour cream, and fritos. Or a big fat chocolate chip cookie and enjoy a night of CBS and ABC. There are some really great shows and some of them can be educational. In their own way. 

Now I must bid you goodbye...David Arquette is about to get his scores! 

Good luck on your T.V. adventures!